Question Q and A thread

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lord Frieza

Level 1
Joined
Sep 10, 2018
Messages
1
Essence
€1,569
Coin
₡11,500
Tokens
0
Will we be having either weekly or biweekly activity training while we await a built in rest like feature for it? Or is activity essence not going to be a thing? Just curious, thanks!
 

Beatrix III

[SA] Mrs. Hizrihel
Staff member
Level 1
Joined
Jul 20, 2018
Messages
17
Essence
€3,012
Coin
₡19,500
Tokens
15
World
Erde Nona
Profile
Click Here
As of right now activity Essence is not a thing. You gain Coin once per week at 500 per automatically. Posting or not. You just need to login to trigger the event.
 

Little Ghost

Smol Ghost!
Level 1
Joined
Sep 10, 2018
Messages
3
Essence
€1,704
Coin
₡5,500
Tokens
0
World
Inverxe
Profile
Click Here
Can a Transit Consumable be combined with a Move Consumable to make a single item (applying the limitations of both, ofc)?

If yes, how much would the following one cost?

TRANSIT, Flight 10, Immunities (Space, Starvation and Thirst)
 

Ganondorf

[A] Rehydrated Hotness
Staff member
Level 1
Joined
Jul 27, 2018
Messages
0
Essence
€2,000
Coin
₡0
Tokens
10
World
Erde Nona
If you got Transit, you can get the other stuff "for free" if that's how you choose to describe how to travel between worlds.
 

Little Ghost

Smol Ghost!
Level 1
Joined
Sep 10, 2018
Messages
3
Essence
€1,704
Coin
₡5,500
Tokens
0
World
Inverxe
Profile
Click Here
Ok, so no damage dealing unless I make a separate move for that, and TRANSIT determines the cost, how the travel itself is done being the fluff of the TRANSIT token. Cool! Can TRANSIT be used to move between different parts of the same world? Restrictions about joining events and such still being in effect, of course.
 

Ganondorf

[A] Rehydrated Hotness
Staff member
Level 1
Joined
Jul 27, 2018
Messages
0
Essence
€2,000
Coin
₡0
Tokens
10
World
Erde Nona
If you really want? Generally, you won't need to purchase Transit just to go between points on the same world. Just write a good narrative about getting there.
 

Mewtwo

Staff member
Level 1
Joined
Sep 18, 2018
Messages
7
Essence
€3,156
Coin
₡13,200
Tokens
145
World
Erde Nona
Profile
Click Here
If I understand correctly, a Modifier is automatically the same rank as the Effect it's attached to, but I've noticed that at least one person has a modifier of a different rank than the effect it's on. Did I miss something in that regard?
Also, if I purchase an ability and later want to raise the Rank(s) on it, must that go through the Approval process again?
 

Ganondorf

[A] Rehydrated Hotness
Staff member
Level 1
Joined
Jul 27, 2018
Messages
0
Essence
€2,000
Coin
₡0
Tokens
10
World
Erde Nona
The rules may need to be updated, but you can take a Modifier at a lower rank than your Effects. Well, Negative Modifiers, and it would need to make sense in your description. Like a fire guy whose Protection is less effective, but not nullified by water attacks.

Yes. You need to approve upgrades and changes.
 

Ahana Varma

General of Neo New Babylon
Staff member
Level 4
Joined
Sep 7, 2018
Messages
44
Essence
€14,747
Coin
₡27,464
Tokens
360
World
Inverxe
Profile
Click Here
If I understand correctly, a Modifier is automatically the same rank as the Effect it's attached to, but I've noticed that at least one person has a modifier of a different rank than the effect it's on. Did I miss something in that regard?
Also, if I purchase an ability and later want to raise the Rank(s) on it, must that go through the Approval process again?
You might be looking at someone with Affects Multiple or Activation, which have their own rank system in addition to the normal ranks on the attached Effects?

I dunno what Jeff means by saying that you can have Modifiers with lower ranks than the Effect they're attached to, but you can't. Unless something major has been agreed by the mods without ever being mentioned in the rules, here in the forum or on the Discord, then the cost of a modifier is always multiplied by the full rank of the Effect it is attached to.
 

Tenshi Hinanawi

Disastrous Girl of Heaven
Staff member
Level 1
Joined
Sep 10, 2018
Messages
4
Essence
€2,338
Coin
₡13,000
Tokens
60
World
Opealon
Profile
Click Here
Most Modifiers don't have ranks, their cost just gets multiplied by the rank of the parent Effect. If the Modifier does have a rank, it's multiplying the base cost of that one only. Then it gets multiplied by the parent Effect's rank.

Affects Multiple has a base cost of 50. Use Affects Multiple II, and you pay 100 (50x2). If you put that under Damage III, Affects Multiple II has a cost of 300 (100x3).
 

Ganondorf

[A] Rehydrated Hotness
Staff member
Level 1
Joined
Jul 27, 2018
Messages
0
Essence
€2,000
Coin
₡0
Tokens
10
World
Erde Nona
It was mentioned in the Ability Workshop when we were discussing Whompt's weaponry, though it may need to be clarified in the Rules. And it'd be kinda dependent on the Modifier in question. Something like a Rocket Launcher which would deal more Damage on a direct hit than on people in the "splash zone"
 

Yuuka Kazami

Youkai Moe
Staff member
Level 1
Joined
Jul 31, 2018
Messages
12
Essence
€2,807
Coin
₡13,300
Tokens
25
World
Cevanti
Profile
Click Here
It was mentioned in the Ability Workshop when we were discussing Whompt's weaponry, though it may need to be clarified in the Rules. And it'd be kinda dependent on the Modifier in question. Something like a Rocket Launcher which would deal more Damage on a direct hit than on people in the "splash zone"
Wouldn't that just be two different damage effects under the same ability, though? Like,

Rocket Launcher
Damage 5 - Ranged
Damage 2 - Ranged, Affects Multiple, Nondiscriminating

That wouldn't require different ranks in the modifiers.
 

Ganondorf

[A] Rehydrated Hotness
Staff member
Level 1
Joined
Jul 27, 2018
Messages
0
Essence
€2,000
Coin
₡0
Tokens
10
World
Erde Nona
I'll see what Frisco has to say on the matter, but I'm under the impression that what I said is correct.
 

Ganondorf

[A] Rehydrated Hotness
Staff member
Level 1
Joined
Jul 27, 2018
Messages
0
Essence
€2,000
Coin
₡0
Tokens
10
World
Erde Nona
Abilities Guru: Interesting! I'd say sure, I guess you can put that Modifier on some but not all ranks? It will look ugly as fuck and you'll have to explain it but whatever
 

Ahana Varma

General of Neo New Babylon
Staff member
Level 4
Joined
Sep 7, 2018
Messages
44
Essence
€14,747
Coin
₡27,464
Tokens
360
World
Inverxe
Profile
Click Here
I'd still say you'd need to format it the way Okina suggested if you were going to do that, Jeff. The alternative is just way too confusing.

... though for a level 1 character you can't stack Effects beyond the Rank cap, so making it Damage 5 & Damage 2 would be pointless unless you were already a higher level.

Wouldn't that just be two different damage effects under the same ability, though? Like,

Rocket Launcher
Damage 5 - Ranged
Damage 2 - Ranged, Affects Multiple, Nondiscriminating

That wouldn't require different ranks in the modifiers.
What you'd want would be:

Damage 3 (300)
--Ranged (150)
Damage 2 (200)
--Ranged (100)
--Affects Multiple 1 (100)
--Nondiscriminating (-100)

So for €750 you'd have a Damage 5 single target Ability which also did Damage 2 to everyone else within 10'.


Allowing people to write it like this:

Damage 5 (500)
--Ranged (250)
--Affects Multiple 1 (100)
--Nondiscriminating (-100)

Would just be really confusing, as it just looks like the person making the ability got the Modifier costs wrong.
 

Mewtwo

Staff member
Level 1
Joined
Sep 18, 2018
Messages
7
Essence
€3,156
Coin
₡13,200
Tokens
145
World
Erde Nona
Profile
Click Here
I'm a bit confused on Protection: I've seen two approved players with protection that isn't ongoing, but implied to be pretty much permanent (the hard-skin type). I have protection with ongoing myself but mine is area based - not sure if that changes anything.
Did I miss some detail? Or is it more of a rules thing that's not consistent yet? (Leaving the names out as I don't want to look like I'm naming & shaming the players or approving staff, but I can privately share them with a staffer)

On that note if the Protection effect could have a note added to clarify if/when Ongoing is needed that'd be great. Thank you!
 

Ganondorf

[A] Rehydrated Hotness
Staff member
Level 1
Joined
Jul 27, 2018
Messages
0
Essence
€2,000
Coin
₡0
Tokens
10
World
Erde Nona
I messed mine up. I forgot it needed Ongoing. I'll eventually fix it.

Consider Protection as needing Ongoing unless it's something like a shield or some other "temporary" defense.
 

Mewtwo

Staff member
Level 1
Joined
Sep 18, 2018
Messages
7
Essence
€3,156
Coin
₡13,200
Tokens
145
World
Erde Nona
Profile
Click Here
Question regarding the 5-Token cost to refund one purchase!
If I "downgrade" a move so that its end cost is less than before, does the Token cost still apply?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top